Scholarship for Eagle Scouts

posted Nov 15, 2017, 4:06 PM by John Royar

Scout Leaders, School Counselors, and Media,

East Texas Communities Foundation will begin accepting applications for the Glenn and Vivian Prater Memorial Scholarship on December 1. Please share this good news!

This scholarship honors the memory of Glenn and Vivian Prater who were residents of Liberty County, Texas. Although neither of the Praters were able to attend college due to financial reasons, they were firm believers in education. Mrs. Prater taught kindergarten before it was part of the public school system. She also sold World Book Encyclopedias. Mr. Prater was valedictorian of his high school class. His passion was working with Boy Scouts; he mentored 12 Eagle Scouts as a Scoutmaster and received the Woodbadge and Silver Beaver Awards.

This scholarship is to be awarded to an Eagle Scout accepted to attend or currently attending Texas A&M University. Applicants must be graduating high school seniors or prior graduates of a public, private, or home school in one of the following counties: Anderson, Angelina, Bowie, Camp, Cass, Cherokee, Delta, Franklin, Freestone, Gregg, Harrison, Henderson, Hopkins, Houston, Lamar, Leon, Liberty, Marion, Morris, Nacogdoches, Panola, Rains, Red River, Rusk, Sabine, San Augustine, Shelby, Smith, Titus, Trinity, Upshur, Van Zandt, or Wood County. Preference will be given to students from Liberty County. The deadline for submission of the application and all supporting documents is February 1, 2018 at 5:00 p.m. The scholarship will be awarded in the amount of $1,000.

Complete eligibility requirements and the link to the application are listed here on our website: We offer 50 additional scholarships which are also detailed on our website.

Thank you for helping get the word out. Please contact me if you need additional information.


Warm regards,


Mary Lynn Smith

Program Officer

East Texas Communities Foundation

315 N. Broadway, Ste. 210

Tyler, Texas  75702



903-533-0258 (fax)